Low turnout in Westborough for primary election

Westborough – It was a light turnout of registered voters in Westborough for the Sept. 14 State Primary Election, with only 15 percent (1,629) going to the polls.

Town Clerk Nancy Yendriga was disappointed when she saw the low numbers.

“I’ve always considered the primary the more important race because you are narrowing the field,” she said.

Yendriga said many voters avoid the polls during primary elections because they do not fully under- stand the rules.

“There is so much misinformation out there about the primaries,” she said.

The most common myth is that a voter must be registered to a party in order to cast a ballot in the primaries. “Not so,” Yendriga said.

In Westborough, 56 percent of registered voters (6,336) are listed as unenrolled. Yendriga said the unenrolled voters are welcome to vote in a primary, but each must identify which party’s ballot they will be using when voting.

“They can choose to vote on the Democratic, Libertarian or Republican ballot.”

The votes in Westborough included 716 for the Democratic ballot and 913 for the Republican ballot.

Among the contested Democratic races, Steven Grossman took Westborough with 441 votes over 186 for opponent Steven J. Murphy in the race for treasurer. Susan M. Bump won the town vote for auditor with 332 votes over 231 for Guy William Glodis and 93 for Mike Lake. For Councilor, Marilyn M. Petitto Devaney beat out Corey A. Belanger, 315 – 202. Thomas J. Foley beat Scot J. Bove for Sheriff with a victory, 363 – 253.

Democratic votes for state representative went to Denis M. Leary for precincts 1 and 4, Carolyn C. Dykema for Precinct 2, and Town Selectman Timothy A. Dodd for precincts 3 and 5.

Other uncontested races on the Democratic ballot included wins for Gov. Deval L. Patrick, Lt. Gov. Timothy P. Murray, Attorney General Martha Coakley, Secretary of State William Francis Galvin, U.S. Rep. James. P. McGovern, State Sen. James B. Eldridge, and Worcester County District Attorney Joseph D. Early Jr.

The contested races on the Republican ballot included a win for Mary Z. Connaughton over Kamal Jain for Auditor, 756 – 71. For the U.S. Congress, former Westborough resident Robert A. Delle’s 314 votes beat out Robert J. Chipman’s 27, Brian J. Herr’s 234, Martin A. Lamb’s 171, and Micahel P. Stopa’s 120.

For state representative, Matthew E. Beaton won precincts 1 and 4, and George N. Peterson Jr. won precincts 3 and 5.

Among the uncontested races on the Republican ballot were winners Charles D. Baker for governor, Richard R. Tisei for lt. governor, James McKenna (write-in) for attorney general, William C. Campbell for secretary of state, Karyn E. Polito for treasurer, Town Selectman George M. Thompson for state senator, and Lewis G. Evangelidis for sheriff.

No votes were cast for the Libertarian party.

Short URL: http://www.communityadvocate.com/?p=7953

Posted by on Sep 24 2010. Filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Please complete this math problem before clicking Submit * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Recently Commented

  • Doug Stone: Thanks Peter. I hope to help out in the future.
  • Doug Stone: Thanks for your support as well Gerald!
  • Gerald Griggs: This is fantastic and we in aviation appreciate what Mr. Stone and others are doing to inspire...
  • Peter Alberti: Having caught the aviation bug along with my son just over a year ago at a Young Eagles rally, I...
  • Gina Tiberio Hamilton: Thank you for printing this and raising awareness for the Walk to End Alzheimers. At $6,245,...