Boy Scouts race to the finish in Northborough

The Pinewood Derby's top three Tiger winners pose with their entries. PHOTO/DOUGTUCKER

Northborough – The Pinewood Derby's top three Tiger winners pose with their entries. Justin Wang came in first, Michael Perry took second and Ryan Daivitto, third.

Northborough Cub Scouts Pack 55/58 Cubmaster Timothy Howe and Committee Chair Matt Hamling announced the winners of the 2011 Pinewood Derby Feb. 5.

The purpose behind the derby is to promote sportsmanship, craftsmanship and allow for a fun scout-parent project.

Each car is made by the scout with the help of an adult and reflects the individuality and personality of each participant; no two cars are alike.

The track is an inclined ramp with wood strips down the center to guide the cars. The derby runs in two heats with two to four cars racing at a time. The vehicles are “fueled” by gravity. Cars are placed at a standstill at the top of the track and race down the ramp to the finish line unaided.

First-place winners will compete at the district level in April.

Along with the first-grade Tiger winners already mentioned, winners of the 2011 race for Pack 55/58 also include:

Wolves (second grade): First Place – Andrew Ryan; Second Place – Thomas Hayes; Third Place – Noah Long.

Bears (third grade): First Place – Kevin Tucker; Second Place – Joseph Kearney; Third Place – Andrew Chen.

Webelos I (fourth grade): First Place – Owen Coderre; Second Place – Zachary Provencal; Third Place – John Cashel.

Webelos II (fifth grade): First Place – Travis Jobes; Second Place – Gabriel Prepetit; Third Place – Patrick Robbins.