Shrewsbury Education Foundation to celebrate Award Gala Jan. 28


Shrewsbury Education Foundation to celebrate Award Gala Jan. 28Shrewsbury – Shrewsbury Education Foundation (SEF) invites the Greater Shrewsbury Community to honor and celebrate exemplary achievement at the Annual Awards Dinner, which will be held Saturday, Jan. 28, from 6:30 to 10 p.m., at Cyprian Keyes Golf Club to in Boylson.

Please join SEF in celebrating honorees selected for the John P. Collins Award of Excellence for the following categories:

Professional Educators: Wendy Bell, Grade 4 Teacher, Walter J. Paton School; Kelly Finneran, Grade 4 Teacher, Calvin Coolidge School; and Kitty Raymond, English as a Second Language Teacher, Calvin Coolidge School.

Paraprofessional Educators: Noel deLeon, Applied Behavioral Analysis Technician, Beal Early Childhood Center, and Maureen McNamara, Special Education Aide, Oak Middle School.

Support Staff: John Milmore, Custodian, Beal Early Childhood Center.

Team: Mary Rana (Lead Provider), Joy Bosnakis, Jim Kusz, Amanda Thomas, and Linda Weir, Extended School Care Staff, Calvin Coolidge School.

Leadership: Jean-Marie Johnson, Director of Mathematics, Shrewsbury High School.

SEF will also honor the educators who have been selected to receive grants for classroom and district enrichment to be awarded in January; along with Dr. Edwin B. Coghlin Jr. (“Ted Coghlin”), this year's recipient of the Community Service Award for Shrewsbury Public Schools. The award is granted to an individual who has made a notable difference in public education. This year Dr. Coghlin has also been named the recipient of the Shrewsbury Youth and Family Service's (SYFS) Harry S. Cutting Jr. Award, for his spirit of charitable giving.

Those in the community involved with education have the same appreciation and gratitude for Dr. Coghlin.

“We are so grateful to Dr. Coghlin for his expression of quiet generosity and his support for our young people. We are proud to honor him at our annual dinner,” said Melissa Hollenback, Co-President of Shrewsbury Education Foundation.

Dr. Coghlin's participation and his advocacy for Shrewsbury Public Schools and its mission to provide all students with a world class education includes his participation on the Shrewsbury Building Committee for the current Sherwood Middle School and Floral Street School, his membership of the Ballot Question Committee for the new Sherwood Middle School, his strong advocacy for vocational education, and his participation on a recent panel with area business professionals to provide guidance to the School Committee as they develop a long term strategic plan for the school district.

Doors and a cash bar will open at 6:30 p.m. Tickets will be $60 per person ($25 of the ticket price is a tax deductible donation) and must be purchased by Jan. 18, 2012. All ticket purchases support funding for teacher and program grants and awards. Entertainment provided by Shrewsbury High School Jazz Ensemble.

For more information, e-mail [email protected] or contact Chris Juetten at [email protected] for reservation information.

No posts to display