Northborough Cub Scouts race at Pinewood Derby


Northborough Cub Scouts race at Pinewood Derby
Tiger winners Mark Cayer (First Place), Christian Adriaasen (Second Place), Kyle Colebourn (Third Place) hold their Pinewood Derby awards.
Northborough – Angry Birds, a wrench and SpongeBob – those were a few of the car themes that Cub Scouts from Northborough Pack 55/58 used to decorate their cars for the recent annual Pinewood Derby race. Students from Peaslee School, Proctor School and St. Bernadette's make up Pack 55/58.
For the race, Scouts, with the help of their parents, build their own cars from wood provided in a kit that also contains the wheels and axles. Cars are then raced against one another grouped by the age of the Scouts.
First introduced in 1953, the Pinewood Derby is one of the traditions of Cub Scouting. The purpose behind the event is to promote sportsmanship, craftsmanship and allow for a fun and memorable Scout/parent project.
The track is an inclined ramp with wood strips down the center to guide the cars. The race runs in two heats with two to four cars racing at a time. The cars start by gravity from a standstill on the track and race down the ramp to the finish line unaided.
Cubmaster Tim Howe, Committee Chair Matt Hamling, and parent volunteers made the event possible. Volunteers for the pit crew, set-up and clean-up crews, registration, race officials, awards, photographers, and a snack bar kept race day running smoothly.
Winners of the 2012 race for Pack 55/58 include the following. First-place winners will compete at the district level in April:

Tigers (first grade): First Place: Mark Cayer, Second Place: Christian Adriaasen, Third Place: Kyle Colebourn.
Wolves (second grade): First Place: Jack Quinlan, Second Place: Ryan Daivitto, Third Place: Brain Rabideau.
Bears (third grade): First Place: Spencer Devine, Second Place: Noah Long, Third Place: Michael Monahan.
Webelos I (fourth grade): First Place: Kevin Tucker, Second Place: Joseph Kearney, Third Place: Michael MacGillivray.
Webelos II (fifth grade): First Place: Ben MacGillivray, Second Place: Issac Theriault, Third Place: Jason Howe.
Awards for Best Design were also given to Peter Wixted (Tigers), Owen Garron (Wolves), Colin Wing (Bears), Preston Green (Webelos I) and Andrew Federici (Webelos II).

No posts to display