Five Marlborough students awarded city scholarships


Five Marlborough students awarded city scholarshipsMarlborough – The recipients of the 2012 City of Marlborough Scholarship Fund stand in City Hall after receiving proclamations from Mayor Arthur Vigeant and City Council President Trish Pope during the council's June 18 meeting. (Left to right) Daniel Dilling, Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School (AVRTHS), accepted to Westfield State University; Lucas Allen, Marlborough High School (MHS), Boston College; Sarah Symes, MHS, Boston University; Kaitlyn Saunders, AVRTHS, Fitchburg State University; and Taylor Fearing, MHS, Brown University.

Since 1997 the mayor and city council have joined together annually to present the awards to local high school students. The scholarships are funded through financial contributions from Marlborough taxpayers through a special, voluntary check-off system on municipal tax bills. This year each of the five students received a $1000 scholarship.

(Photo/courtesy Steven Symes)

No posts to display