Worcester Polytechnic Institute announces spring 2012 Dean's List


Worcester – The following local residents were among 1,286 students from Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) named to the university's Dean's List for academic excellence for the spring 2012 semester:

Michael Burns, of Shrewsbury; Ajay Dhesikan, of Shrewsbury; Meaghan Dunn, of Shrewsbury; William Frankian, of Northborough; Alexandra Hardin, of Shrewsbury; Margaret Hester, of Westborough; Anders Hokinson, of Southborough; Andrei Ilyashenko, of Northborough; Remy Jette, of Shrewsbury; Sean Kelly, of Shrewsbury; Brian Leslie, of Westborough; Theresa Logan, of Westborough; Josue Malaver, of Shrewsbury; Catherine O”Brien, of Shrewsbury; Samuel Patterson, of Shrewsbury; Charles Plummer, of Westborough; Mark Vanacore, of Westborough; and Hussein Yatim, of Shrewsbury.

The criteria for the WPI Dean's List differs from most other universities as WPI does not compute a grade point average (GPA). Instead, WPI defines the Dean's List by the amount of work completed at the A level in courses and projects.

“WPI's academic programs are remarkably rigorous, so being named to the Dean's List is a testament to hard work, a sharp mind, and a commitment to excellence,” said Provost Eric Overström. “Some of this nation's best and brightest students come to WPI to learn subjects ranging from engineering to science to business and the humanities, and through our innovative project-based curriculum they conduct professional-level research and solve important problems all over the world. Those named to the Dean's List have excelled at facing such demanding challenges, and we are exceptionally proud of these outstanding students.”