Shrewsbury Education Foundation to honor educators, grant recipients


Shrewsbury-large-web-iconShrewsbury – The Shrewsbury Education Foundation (SEF) will host its annual awards dinner Saturday, Jan. 25, at 6:30 p.m. at Cyprian Keyes Golf Club, 284 E. Temple St., Boylston. The SEF will honor recipients of the John P. Collins Award for Excellence, which honors faculty and staff members from Shrewsbury Public Schools who have gone above and beyond in their duties, as well as recipients of SEF's innovative Educator Grant Program, a competitive program that supports educational initiatives outside the regular budget and curriculum.

Additionally, SEF will present its Community Service Award to Thomas Kennedy, formerly director of Human Resources for Shrewsbury Public Schools and an active community volunteer. The award is presented to a town leader who has gone above and beyond in delivering outstanding service to the community and to the Shrewsbury Public Schools.

This year's honorees include, along with their respective categories: Dr. Jane Lizotte, Sherwood Middle School (Leadership); Bryan Mabie, Spring Street School; Susana Pierce, Oak Middle School (Mentor); Kim Golosh, Spring Street School (Paraprofessional); Sara Biadasz, Beal School (Professional); Peter Collins, Shrewsbury High School (Professional); Amy O”Leary, Shrewsbury High School (Professional); Carol Virzi, Sherwood Street School (Professional); Katie Fox, Paton School (Support); and David Poe, Beal School (Support).

This year's grant recipients are Dayna-Brown Dolan (along with an SHS student), Reegan Altomare, Gillian Litchfield, Sharon Wade, Kelly O”Connell, Rebecca Connole, Deirde Lincoln, Sharon Dowd, Jessica Crosby, Stacey Militello, Allison McDonald, Shirley Lemay, Ellen O”Leary, Suzanne Margiano, Cara Demoga, Camille Viscomi, Stephanie Halacy, Ann Early, Kristine Gustafson, Noreen Camerato, Michelle Lemay, Lorry S”Ascanio, and Carol Virizi.

Tickets for this year's dinner are $70 and must be purchased by Monday, Jan. 20. There will be no tickets sold at the door. Ticket purchases support funding for teacher and program grants and awards.?Reservation forms can be downloaded at

No posts to display