Categories: Byline Stories - NewsThis Just InWestborough

Uncontested races draw few voters in Westborough election

Westborough – There were no surprises in the Westborough annual Town Election held March 3. Only 493 out of 11,359 eligible residents voted, a 4.3-percent turnout. Seven out of the nine open seats were filled by incumbents and all races were unopposed. George Barrette and Denzil Drewry were re-elected for three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen; Nicole Sullivan was re-elected to a three-year term on the School Committee; Karen Fay, James L. Holmes and Carolyn Spring will remain trustees of the public library for three years; and Joan Pavolis was re-elected to the Westborough Housing Authority for a five-year term. Newcomer William J. Spencer was elected to a five-year term on the Planning Board and Lydia Goldblatt will fill the open Board of Selectman seat vacated by Leigh Emery for one year.

Community Advocate Staff :