Southborough Access Media holds ribbon cutting ceremony


Southborough Access Media holds ribbon cutting ceremony
Photo 2: Warren Palley, president of the Southborough Access Media (SAM) Board of Directors, cuts the ribbon on the new studio flanked by (l to r) SAM Producer Terry Newman, SAM Treasurer Neil Rossen, Trottier Principal Keith Lavoie, Superintendent Christine Johnson, SAM Executive Director Katelyn Willis, SAM Production Manager Trevor Dillman, State Representative Carolyn Dykema, Southborough Selectman Paul Cimino, and SAM Clerk Brian Greene. (Photos/Jennifer MacNeil)

Southborough – Southborough Access Media (SAM) hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony at the new TV station at the P. Brent Trottier Middle School Jan. 25. The evening was attended by State Senator Jamie Eldridge (D-Acton) and Representative Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston) and included a special performance by the band Hit the Bus.

SAM, which was formerly known as the Southboro Cable TV Advisory Committee, had been previously housed in Fayville Hall.

“For many years I believed, and the board shared this belief, that SAM should be headquartered in a Southborough school,” explained SAM President Warren Palley. “Why? Because, like many things in life, if you can get the kids immersed in areas like video communication and digital integration at an early age they will be able to leverage this experience as they head to high school, college and beyond.”

He pointed out Superintendent Christine Johnson’s efforts with the School Committee and SAM Board of Directors to move the project ahead.

“The day we first met with [Christine] to explain the idea of housing the SAM studios here at Trottier,” explained SAM President Warren Palley, “we knew that she got it! Christine was immediately able to share our vision of what we knew this facility would mean, not only to the students and faculty, but to all the people of Southborough.”

According to Palley, there will be programs to train volunteers on production and editing and “we will soon be offering residents and the business community the opportunity to support these efforts with underwriting sponsorship packages.”

Palley thanked many people for their efforts, including Town Administrator Mark Purple, Assistant Town Administrator Vanessa Hale, the Board of Selectmen, the School Committee, Trottier Principal Keith Lavoie, head of facilities at Trottier Dave White, and past chairs of the Southboro Cable TV Advisory Committee Russ Millholland and Paul Ferguson. He also thanked fellow members of the SAM Board of Directors Neil Rossen and Brian Greene, Producer Terry Newman, Production ManagerTrevor Dillmanour, and Executive Director Katelyn Willis. Willis, he noted, handled the day-to-day process of the design and build out of the new facility.

No posts to display