Kane School teacher named Marlborough Teacher of the Year


Kane School teacher named Marlborough Teacher of the Year
(l to r) Marlborough Mayor Arthur Vigeant, Marlborough Public Schools Superintendent Maureen Greulich, honoree Melissa Tirpak, Kane School Principal Wendy Stanley and United Brethren Master Joseph Delano. Photo/Submitted

Marlborough – Melissa Tirpak, a second-grade teacher at the Francis J. Kane Elementary School, with more than 15 years of teaching experience in Marlborough, has been named Marlborough Teacher of the Year for 2017.

The award, created and administered by Marlborough’s United Brethren Lodge of Freemasons, honors Tirpak for her outstanding commitment to students, engagement with parents and impact on the community.

Tirpak was surprised in her classroom earlier this month by a contingent that included Marlborough Mayor Arthur Vigeant, School Superintendent Maureen Greulich, Kane Principal Wendy Stanley, and presiding Master of United Brethren Joseph Delano, who gave her the good news in front of her students.

Tirpak will be formally honored, along with award finalists Isabel Nowlan of the Richer School and Karen Briggs of the Early Childhood Center, at an evening reception Wednesday, May 17, at United Brethren’s Jacobs Hall.