Candidates prepare for contested races in Westborough’s annual town election


Westborough town iconWestborough – There will be several contested races for Westborough voters to consider when they go to the polls Tuesday, March 2 for the town’s annual election. 

Two incumbents, Syed Hashmi and Shelby Marshall, will be challenged by Sean Keough for the two 3-years terms on the Board of Selectmen (BOS).    

Thomas Dolan, Jr. and Patrick Welch will be facing off to serve a one-year term on the BOS. This position is currently vacant after longtime Selectman Leigh Emery stepped down in December. 

Peter Bouchard and Zafar Imitiaz Siddiqui are the candidates competing for a one five-year term on the Planning Board. 

Debra Cushman and Fiona McDonald are running for a one two-year term for Trustee of the Public Library. 

There are also several uncontested races. Incumbent Kristen Vincent is seeking re-election for another three-year term on the School Committee. Jill Dupre is running for re-election for a five-year term on the Housing Authority. Karen Fay, James Holmes and Carolyn Spring are all seeking another three-year term as Trustee of the Public Library. 

The annual town election will be held Tuesday, March 2, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., at Town Hall, 34 West Main St. 

Voting by mail is encouraged. Click here to print a vote-by-mail application. For more information visit the town of Westborough website or contact Town Clerk Wendy Mickel at 508-366-3020



Click here for more Westborough news.