Shrewsbury releases unofficial election results


Shrewsbury releases unofficial election results
Rajesh Uppalapati, John Samia and Michelle Conlin campaign along South Street Tuesday morning. (Photo/Laura Hayes)

SHREWSBURY – Shrewsbury voters headed to the polls on Tuesday, casting their ballots to settle contested Selectmen and School Committee races.

The Town Clerk’s office released unofficial results on Tuesday night showing Michelle Conlin and incumbent John Samia winning the race for a pair of seats on the Board of Selectmen. 

Garnering 2,292 and 2,322 votes respectively, Samia and Conlin defeated Rajesh Uppalapati, who came in third place in the unofficial count after receiving 1,820 votes. 

Erin Boucher and incumbent Lynsey Heffernan led a four-way race for two School Committee seats, according to those same unofficial results. 

Boucher received 2,015 votes while Heffernan finished in second place with 1,965. 

They won seats over Jennifer Luke and Sanam Zaer, who finished with 1,272 and 1,135 votes. 

This election clears the way for new names – Conlin and Boucher – to join both the Board of Selectmen and the School Committee.

They’re set to replace outgoing Selectman John Lebeaux and School Committee member Dale Magee who each opted to not seek re-election this year. 

Turnout for this year’s election was 15.65% according to the unofficial tally.

A series of uncontested positions were also on the ballot with Richard Ricker being re-elected to the Housing Authority and Noor Ali and incumbents Jeffrey Billingham and Nancy Gilbert being elected to the Trustees of the Shrewsbury Public Library.

Full results


Michelle Conlin – 2,322

John Samia – 2,292 

Rajesh Uppalapati – 1,820


Erin Boucher – 2015

Lynsey Heffernan – 1965

Jennifer Luke – 1272

Sanam Zaer – 1135


Richard Ricker – 2769


Jeffery Billingha – 2331

Nancy Gilbert – 2381

Noor Ali – 2211

No posts to display