Grafton follows rest of state in election results


Grafton follows rest of state in election results
David Muradian and his mother, Susan, near the polling place at Grafton Middle School. (Photo/Maureen Sullivan)

GRAFTON – Who is Robert Hammer IV, and why did he show up in every race posted on Grafton’s state election ballot?

According to unofficial results posted by the Town Clerk’s office this week, Hammer received one write-in vote in every race, from governor to the school committee for Blackstone Valley Tech.

Hammer, voting from Precinct 3, had no effect on any of the races, as voters in Grafton followed the rest of the state in voting Maura Healey and Kim Driscoll for governor and lieutenant governor; Andrea Campbell for attorney general; William Galvin for secretary of state; Deborah Goldberg for treasurer; Diana DiZoglio for auditor.

Voters also re-elected James McGovern for Congress; Paul DePalo for Governor’s Council; and Lew Evangelidis for Worcester County sheriff. Michael Moore and David Muradian, who were both running unopposed, were also re-elected by Grafton voters.

On the ballot questions, voters said no on Question 1, the so-called “millionaire’s tax” by a narrow margin of 3,978-3,925 and no on Question 3 regarding liquor licenses with 4,085-3,687.

Grafton voters did vote yes on Question 2 regarding dental insurance  5,747-2,128 and Question 4 regarding driver’s licenses 3,955-3,905.


Local communities release election results