Contested races for Northborough Town Moderator, School Committee


Contested races for Northborough Town Moderator, School Committee
Northborough voters headed to Melican Middle School to cast their ballots in 2022. This year, the Northborough election will be May 9. (Photo/Laura Hayes)

NORTHBOROUGH – It appears there will be contested races for Town Moderator and the Northborough School Committee in the Northborough election.

The deadline for candidates to return their papers was March 14.

Incumbent Frederick George is running for re-election as Town Moderator against Joanne Stocklin.

There are two open seats on the Northborough School Committee. Incumbent Joan Frank, Gigi Lisa Howell and Kristen Willems-Tietjen have pulled papers for the election.

Other races on the ballot are uncontested.

There will also be new faces on the Board of Selectmen after Jason Perreault and Scott Rogers have announced that they will not seek re-election. Lisa Maselli and Laura Ziton will be on the ballot for the open seats.

On the Planning Board, incumbents Millie Milton and Amy Poretsky are seeking re-election.

There are two seats up for election for both Northborough and Southborough candidates on the Regional School Committee. Northborough incumbents Chris Covino and Sean O’Shea are seeking re-election, and Southborough incumbent Paul Desmond and John Wysocki are also seeking seats on the committee.

The election will be on May 9. All precincts vote at Melican Middle School. For more information, visit