Casavant becomes chair following post-election reorganization


A sign in downtown Marlborough asks residents to get vaccinated against COVID-19. (Photo/Dakota Antelman)
Shrewsbury’s Town Hall sits off Maple St. in town. The Select Board reorganized following the election. (Photo/Dakota Antelman)

SHREWSBURY – After longtime Select Board member Moe DePalo opted not to run for re-election and the May 2 municipal election brought a new member to the board, the Select Board chose Beth Casavant as chair during its May 9 meeting.

The vote to choose Casavant was unanimous.

“[Casavant] did a really nice job last year as vice chair. You also just earned a well-deserved re-election,” Select Board member John Samia said. “I’d like to draw on your experience for the upcoming term.”

The other position changes started to happen only after Casavant assumed the chair role. Theresa Flynn was unanimously chosen for Casavant’s previous vice-chair post, and Samia was unanimously picked for Flynn’s previous role as the board’s clerk. 

DePalo also vacated his positions as the Select Board designee to the Affordable Housing Trust and the Police Station Building Committee. 

Carlos Garcia, who was recently elected to DePalo’s seat, was appointed as the designee to the Affordable Housing Trust. 

“I know from your campaign work that you have first-hand experience with affordable housing, and I think that you would be a really great asset and a great fit for that board,” Casavant said. 

Michelle Conlin was chosen as the designee to the Police Station Building Committee. With construction of the new police station now completed, Conlin will represent the Select Board at the committee’s last few meetings. 

No posts to display