Local students named National Merit semifinalists


Local students named National Merit semifinalistsREGION – The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of more than 16,000 semifinalists in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. 

These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. 

Over 1.3 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. 

The following local students attained semifinalist status:

Advanced Math and Science Academy Charter School – Lillian A. Mitchell, Ishani Saha

Algonquin Regional High School – JanetLou D. Guan, Dea Gupta, Kathryn M. Michel, Axel Soderquist, Ashley S. Yuan, Matthew J. Zhang

Shrewsbury High School – Vishnu K. Angiras, Advait Bhowmik, Megana Lingamarla, Siri Ural

St. John’s High School – Thomas Robinson, Samuel C. Ross

Westborough High School – Caleb J. Conners, Ayush Kataria, Kevin R. Shi

No posts to display