Hudson ballot to feature contested races


Hudson ballot to feature contested races
A sign in Hudson shows voters where to vote. (Photo/Dakota Antelman)

HUDSON – Hudson voters will have to decide between candidates in contested races for Select Board, School Committee and Municipal Light Board.

Nomination papers for the election were due on March 20. 

Scott Duplisea, who is currently serving as chair on the Select Board, is seeking another term. He will face off against challenger Herman Kabakoff.

Three people are running for two, three-year terms on the School Committee: Erica Ankstitus, Nicholas Martino and Steven Sharek. Sharek was appointed to the School Committee last July to fill the remainder of Adam Tracy’s term. 

For the Municipal Light Board, Lawrence Charles Fine is challenging Justin Provencher for a three-year term on the board. Tony Buscemi and Allyson O’Malley are running for a seat on the Board of Health. 

There are several uncontested races.

Richard Harrity is seeking another term as town moderator, Sarah Cressy is seeking re-election to the Housing Authority, Michael Peckham is running for another term as constable and incumbent Thomas Desmond is hoping to be elected to another term as a library trustee. 

Additionally, David Daigneault is seeking re-election to the Planning Board, as is Nelson Luz Santos to the Cemetery Commission. In other uncontested races, Brian Bowen is vying for another term on the Board of Assessors, and William Charbonneau is running for re-election to the Assabet Valley Regional Vocational School Committee. 

Diane Buchanan is running for another term as a trustee of Susan Cox, Joseph S. Bradley, J. J. Angell, Sarah A. Brown, George E.D. and Abigail A. Wilkins, Addie E. Cahill, Helen M. Lewis, Mary E. Tacey, Maude A. Whitney, Clara E. Houghton, Martin Joseph Moran, III Funds.

Candidates have until April 5 to withdraw their nomination papers. 

The election will be May 8. The last day to register to vote for this election is April 21. 

For more information on the election, visit

No posts to display