Races shaping up for Grafton Select Board, School Committee


Races shaping up for Grafton Select Board, School Committee
Grafton’s annual election is scheduled for May 16. (Photo/Maureen Sullivan)

GRAFTON – With the deadline to submit nomination papers now passed, here’s how the annual Town Election on May 16 is shaping up.

Three residents will be vying for the two available seats on the Select Board – Colleen Roy and Matthew Often, who are running for re-election, and Mark Crasten Alimo.

There will also be a race for the single seat available on the School Committee, as Rebecca S. Soco and Craig A. Juelis have filed and returned nomination papers.

James Davidson had planned to run for a seat on the Board of Library Trustees, but he withdrew in order to run for the available seat on the Planning Board.

For the two available library trustee seats, Carrie A. Hogan and Roger R. Trahan Jr. have returned nomination papers.

Other candidates in the running include Dawn C. Anderson for town moderator, and John Paul Kelley for Housing Authority.

Candidates may withdraw their nomination papers up until 5 p.m. on April 13.

The last day to register to vote for this election is April 28 at 5 p.m. (in-person registration).

The deadline to apply for an absentee ballot by mail is 5 p.m. on May 9; in-person deadline is noon on May 15.

Early voting hours will be announced.

Polls on Election Day will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Precincts 1, 2 and 3 vote at the Grafton Middle School.

Precincts 4 and 5 vote at the Millbury Street Elementary School.

Annual Town Meeting

The Annual Town Meeting will convene on May 8 at 7 p.m. at Grafton High School Auditorium.

The last day for filing petitions for insertion of articles for the Town Meeting Warrant was on Friday, March 24.

Last day to register to vote for Town Meeting is April 28, at 5 p.m. (in-person registration). 

For more information, visit https://www.grafton-ma.gov/294/Election-Information-Voting-Locations.

No posts to display