Shrewsbury releases unofficial results in municipal election


Shrewsbury releases unofficial results in municipal election
Shrewsbury candidates and their supporters stand in front of Town Hall on election day. (Photo/Evan Walsh)

SHREWSBURY – There will be new faces on the Select Board and School Committee.

Shrewsbury voters headed to the ballot box on May 2 to cast their votes in a number of races. 

According to the unofficial results, incumbent Beth Casavant was re-elected and Carlos Garcia was elected to the Select Board with Casavant leading the pack with 1,976 votes followed by Garcia with 1,654, Rajesh Uppalapati with 1,244, Siobhan Costello-Weber with 1,130 and James Brown with 534.

As for the School Committee, Sandra Fryc was elected to serve another term after receiving 2,352 votes. Rachel Sharifipour was also elected, receiving 1,747 votes. Rajesh Velagapudi rounded out the candidates, receiving 1,726 votes. 

The third of the contested races was for Housing Authority. Incumbent Kathy McSweeney was re-elected over Anand Sharma.

No posts to display